Trailers that work

As a screenwriter, one of the things I do is watch a lot of trailers. It gives me a feel for what is happening in the industry — what films are being made, what stories are being told, and … is there anything out there I want to see.

Sadly, most trailers I watch don’t make me want to see the movie.

The trailer is the condensed pitch for the story.  It’s an attempt to get the potential viewers to make the decision to come to the theater (or video store or online service), lay down their money and time, and watch the movie.  The trailer should be the best of the best in order to capture the interest of potential viewers.

Sometimes the trailers are very good but we discover when we go see the film that all the good parts of the movie were included in the 1 – 2 minute trailer. The movie itself was horrible. But that’s a topic for another post.

Today I want to share with you a trailer that worked for me.

Is the film any good?

That I won’t know until I watch the movie but the trailer did its job. The film is now on my list of movies I want to see.

 

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

