When to hire a cover artist

This post is primarily for those of you who are self publishers.

Your work is complete and you’re ready to publish it on Amazon. You just need one more thing.  A cover.

If you’re like me you really want to design the cover yourself. I subscribe to Adobe Creative Cloud which means I have all of the Adobe software at my fingertips. The only problem is …  they’re my fingertips.

Let me give you an example. I just published a public domain work One Thousand Miles of Miracle in China by A. E. Glover. This book tells the story of a missionary family in China during the Boxer Rebellion of 1900. It’s a fascinating story of people facing great danger and relying upon God.  The book is in the public domain but  it’s difficult to get on Amazon for a reasonable price so I edited it and made it available on in the Kindle Store for 99 cents. But I needed a cover.

There were dozens of photographs in the book and I had my trusty little Photoshop software waiting to be used so I dove into the project. I spent several days and made multiple revisions. I think I ended up producing seven or eight covers until I finally found the one that I liked.

I used one of the family photos that was in the book and exercised my Photoshop skills to remove  the background and make it transparent so I could put it over a purchased stock photo of China. Then I adjusted the colors and resolution of the photo, threw in  some wonderful title letters, added the author’s name and my name at the bottom, and ended up with this …

A Thousand Miles COVER 7

Hey, my wife liked it.

I actually posted it to Amazon. It hurt me to look at it.

So I did what I should have done at the beginning. I hired a cover designer.

I hired pixel studio through Fiverr and for $10 had them  produce the cover design. This is what they came up with:

 

athousandmilesofmiracleinchina-1

 

When should you hire a cover designer? As soon as you realize you need a cover. It will save you a lot of time and if you’re fortunate to find a designer like I did it, you will end up with a beautiful cover.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “When to hire a cover artist
  1. Elissa says:

    Hm, I never knew! Good info. One day I’ll write a book. I’ve started working on it – we’ll see where it goes! In the meantime, I’ve nominated your blog for a Liebster Award! To see what that’s about, you can look at my latest blog post. http://livinglooney.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/that-time-i-was-nominated-for-a-liebster-award/ Hope all is well with the Morey Family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

