Talking to Myself


I’ve been using the Dragon Naturally Speaking software for a little over a week now.

I’ve actually used several earlier versions of the software.  I always started out excited about the possibilities and then always gave up on it because it just didn’t work with my writing style.

But they’ve come out with their new version (12.0) and since I never really used the previous version (11) I thought I would give it another try.  I’m working with Version 11 at the moment but if this works I will probably get their new release.

I went through the training sessions. I watched online videos on YouTube and on Nuance’s website.  And I practiced.

Novels

So far I have found it an interesting way to develop some stories. I’ve used it on a couple of the novels I’m working on and it seemed to be okay.  I actually enjoyed speaking the stories and could even handle the dialogue pretty well.  I think if I get better at dictating (learning the language and how to make corrections) it might work for novels.  If this doesn’t work, I think I may just do audio recordings and then transcribe the material later.  It took awhile but I got into storytelling out loud.

Nonfiction

It certainly works for a nonfiction book I’m writing.  In that particular book I’m just sharing my personal stories so I don’t have all the concern about “open quote” and “close quote” and the like.  I just talk.  Yes, I still have to say the punctuation, but the more I do it, the easier that becomes without interrupting my thought processes.

Screenplays

I haven’t quite figured out how to use it for screenplays yet and that may be my lack of skill with the software or perhaps the formatting issues that are involved with screenplays.

I’d be interested to hear anyone’s input who has used Dragon Naturally Speaking or some other type of dictation software.

The industry certainly has been trending this way for some time. Even our cell phones and tablets respond to voice commands .

So if you found your dictation software to be valuable in writing stories I would really like to hear that. I want to give it a few more weeks of using the software and learning how to get better at it to see if in fact this will be a worthwhile use of my time in telling stories.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

