Next steps

I’ve always found it exciting to watch people take the “next step” on their journey in life.

photo (12)Yesterday, my wife and I got to watch our youngest daughter take one of those steps.  She graduated from the University of Montana with a degree in Mathematics.

Looking back on the last four years, I know I tried to be encouraging as she pursued her degree but when she would come home excited about what she learned in class and tried to share it with me, I usually didn’t have a clue what she was talking about.

That’s not to say those of us with History majors are lacking in the field of mathematics, but when I  read her senior thesis, “Integral Enumeration Formulas: Theory and Applications,”  I have to admit I didn’t even know what the title of the paper meant, let alone understand the arguments that “proved” whatever it was the title was referring to.

photo (8)But she must have done something right in the last four years.

She received a Presidential Award for being the outstanding graduate in Pure Math and she’s been accepted into a doctoral program at the University of Denver where they will pay her to go to school.

Who gets paid to go to school?  All I did in my college career was rack up debts.

Needless to say, my wife and I are very proud of our daughter and are looking forward to what God has for her next.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”  Jeremiah 29:11-13 (NIV)

Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Next steps
  1. Sue Wittman says:

    Congrats to all you all b ut mostly to your daughter. My youngest son has a degree in math and during his college years I asked him what classes he was taking. He’d just look and me and shake his head and say that I wouldn’t even understand the course titles. True!

    Like

  2. Sharmin McCalla says:

    Already?! Congratulations on completing her degree and obtaining a fabulous opportunity to continue her education in Colorado. Lauren’s adventure continues! Not to mention Colorado is just another fun place to go for a ‘writer’s retreat’ right?! 🙂 Shar

    Date: Sun, 19 May 2013 18:09:10 +0000 To: sharnpat@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

