Don’t let the odds stop you

I just finished a script.

It’s a pilot for a sitcom.  Now for those of you not familiar with the business of making sitcoms (or other TV shows), selling a spec pilot for a show is almost impossible.

Even if you are a top writer in Hollywood with powerful connections and a major agency leading you through the gauntlet of gatekeepers and green-lighters, selling a sitcom is a daunting proposition.

Many try.  Few are chosen.

If you’re an unknown writer who lives over 1,000 miles away in Montana and doesn’t have any powerful Hollywood connections … well, impossible might be an optimistic statement.

I knew that before I began writing the script.

So why bother trying?

Because the story I want to tell is a series.  I had to decide if I wanted to tell this story or let it die untold.  I chose to tell the story.

Now comes the business of trying to persuade someone that they should make the series.  The odds are beyond calculation by the mathematically disinclined (i.e. me).  But that’s okay.  It’s the story I want to tell.

“The most rewarding things you do in life are often the ones that look like they cannot be done.”  Arnold Palmer

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

