What’s a NAB?

Okay, since you asked …

NAB is the National Association of Broadcasters.  They held their annual convention in Vegas last week and I was there along with over 90,000 other people.

It’s one of my favorite conventions because it gives a glimpse of what is coming in the industry, lets you see and experience new hardware and software approaches for creating and delivering stories, and gives you an opportunity to learn from the pros.

My rule of thumb for evaluating if a convention or seminar is worthwhile is quite simple.  If I get ONE thing out of it that I can use, I consider it a good investment.

This year Adobe got me.  I was impressed with their presenters, their software, and their new service — “The Creative Cloud.”

If I was an independent producer, I would have signed up immediately, but since I am just a lowly writer it took me a couple of days before I signed up for the service (at the special convention rate!) and now have access to ALL of Adobe’s products for the next year.  I will have to pass on some of my daily trips to Barnes & Noble to justify the expense, but I think it will give me some skills I can use in creating and promoting my stories.

It’s a good thing I have a Lynda.com subscription because I have a lot of learning to do — Photoshop, Illustrator, Premier Pro, After Effects, Dreamweaver … to name just a few of the products that are now available to me.

Thanks NAB.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “What’s a NAB?
  1. ebrackett@aol.com says:

    Clint,

    Sounds like you had a good experience with the 90,000 + who attended the convention. You were pretty close to us….maybe sometime we could see you when you come again. We haven’t been to Vegas in a long time. We have friends who have a second home there.

    Anyway, so happy that we have re-connected, we did receive your generous gift of the two books this week. Thank you for sharing them with us. Dan has been under the weather this week and hasn’t felt like doing much, not even reading.

    He is anxious to get started on them, happy that you have some good sources for graphics etc. that are certainly needed in your work. I use the Adobe photoshop limited version of the photo editing etc. I was introduced to that a few years ago while on a cruise. They had some classes you could attend. Was good for something to do besides lay in the sun on a deck which I don’t do either.

    Happy for you, now you have more work in figuring out how all the Adobe material can enhance your writings.

    Many blessings to you and your family,

    Ellen

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • Ellen,
      It was a fun time and I always learn a lot. Now I have to learn how to use all those Adobe products.
      Tell Dan we’re praying for him to recover quickly. “Under the weather” is not fun.
      Have a great weekend.
      Clint

      Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

