Living with Rankings

Part of my morning routine is to check the rankings of my novels and short stories on Amazon.  This is the type information I see each day.  Sometimes it’s good.  Sometimes it’s less than good.  This morning I found one of my novels, THE OUTER RIMS, was ranked as the 4,562nd best selling book on Amazon.  I also have one of my short stories, THE LAST PATRIOT, ranked as the 942,284th best selling book on Amazon.

Most of the time my books are out there in the hundreds of thousands range which means not many people are reading them.  But some are.  As a storyteller, those “some” are important to me.  They’re my audience.

ASIDE:  What if our lives were evaluated like Amazon ranks books?  Suppose a government used some unknown algorithm and ranked everyone on an hourly basis.  Would you be checking your rankings every morning?  Every hour?  Would you check how others rank?  Would people be hired or fired based on their rankings?  Would you change how you live in order to increase your rankings?  What if hanging around certain people or engaging in certain activities impacted your life rankings?  Would you change who you hang around and what you do?  You know what’s kind of scary … we have the technology to rank people.  Do you think a government or organization will begin doing this in the future?  I feel a sci-fi story coming on as I consider this topic.  

The Outer Rims (Kindle Serial)

  • Kindle Edition
  • Current Sales Rank: #4,562 in Kindle Store
  • Average Review:  (13 reviews)
The Harvest

  • Kindle Edition
  • Current Sales Rank: #316,986 in Kindle Store
  • Average Review:  (2 reviews)
JAIDEE … Out of the Ashes (A Lyons Investigation Mystery)

  • 2 Editions
  • Current Sales Rank: #59,111 in Kindle Store
  • Average Review:  (12 reviews)
When I Fall in Love

  • 2 Editions
  • Current Sales Rank: #92,175 in Kindle Store
  • Average Review:  (5 reviews)
Killing Strangers (Short Story)

  • Kindle Edition
  • Current Sales Rank: #250,850 in Kindle Store
  • Average Review:  (2 reviews)
The Last Patriot [Short Story]

  • Kindle Edition
  • Current Sales Rank: #942,284 in Kindle Store
  • Average Review: There are no reviews yet
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Living with Rankings
  1. Beth says:

    Unfortunately, I think we already are ranked and assessed through an arbitrary, standardized system of “value” — we just don’t have numbers. Yet. :/ But if you don’t have the right look/size/career/partner/beliefs/personality/etc., you are labeled (albeit silently) as lesser, according to the world’s standards. I’m so grateful for God’s both higher and yet gentler standard of acceptance and value — loving Jesus. Whew!

    Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox now. 😉

    Like

    • I agree completely. We are constantly ranking ourselves and others whether it’s through “political correctness” or choosing which groups to align ourselves with or align ourselves against.

      We just don’t quantify the results.

      God offers a very different way and I’m glad He does.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

