The Serial Reading Experience

NOT AN AD … I PROMISE!

When I first heard of Kindle Serials, I wasn’t sure it was a good idea.

Serials?  Really?

A story broken up into episodes and then delivered every other week?

I am a voracious reader.  When I am into a book, I want to read it all.  Right now.  Without stopping.

It doesn’t matter if it’s a political thriller, a sci-fi adventure, a love story, or a theological treatise.  If I like it, I’ll be up until one or or two in the morning trying to consume as much of the story as possible.

But I decided to give it a try.  I bought one of the Kindle Serials and started reading.  It didn’t take long and I was hooked.

I mean, seriously, how could you read a book about flesh eating zombies during the plagues that swept Europe in the Middle Ages and not be hooked?  I wanted to find out what happened next but had to wait.  I thought the waiting would be terrible but it wasn’t.  It was actually fun (after the first two waits wore off).  I began to look forward to the next episode and when I received my email that it had arrived, I immediately consumed it (the story, not the email).  This continued to the end of the book.  Instead of the reading experience being over in one or two sleepless nights, it extended for weeks.

I enjoyed reading the episodes.

I enjoyed the anticipation of the next episode.

And I got a lot more sleep.

It was a fun experience and I recommend everyone give it a try.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

