Evaluation of a 2-Day Free Promo on KDP

I finished my 2-Day Promo for THE HARVEST.  There were 488 downloads (U.S. 451, U.K. 32, Germany 3, Italy 2).  For a few brief hours I was in the top 100 in the Kindle Free store and for awhile I was #2 in the Science Fiction – High Tech category.

4:20 p.m. Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #874 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)

EVALUATION

Overall I think it was a good promotion.

I used a number of “Free Kindle Books” sites to promote the event — Authors Marketing Club, Pixel of Ink, Freebooksy, Snickslist, Deals.woot, World Literary Cafe, Bargain eBook Hunter, Kindle Nation Daily.  The last time I ran a promo for this book I only used my social networking sites and had 277 downloads so there was a definite improvement using those sites.

I didn’t have any reviews on Amazon and I think that would have increased the downloads.  I know good reviews make me more likely to download a book.  So next time I’ll have to work on getting the reviews before running the promo.

Will it increase sales?  We’ll have to wait and see on that.  Hopefully it will get a few reviews and if the readers like it, perhaps they will pass the information along to their social networks.

At the very worst almost 500 more people now have my book on their reading device.  That’s not bad.

Posted in Novels, Tools
2 comments on “Evaluation of a 2-Day Free Promo on KDP
  1. Laura Besley says:

    Congratulations! I downloaded it and will write you a review once I’ve read it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

