How could this be?

I am running a 2 day free promo through the Kindle program for my Sci-Fi Thriller, THE HARVEST.  When I checked how the downloads were going, I discovered it was doing quite well as a children’s book.  THE HARVEST is not a children’s book.  I grant you I only kill one person in the first chapter but the body counts pick up considerably after that.

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #32,658 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)

A little later on that first day, after writing Amazon that it was NOT a children’s book but a sci-fi thriller, I checked how the book was doing.

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,726 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)

It’s moving up in the children’s book list.  I’m not quite sure how to handle this.  I do have a Young Adult book (WHEN I FALL IN LOVE) that would fit into this category but the book available for free should not be in the children’s section.  I rechecked all the descriptions and tags for THE HARVEST and it is clearly identified as a Sci-Fi Thriller.

Checked again this morning and the problem continues.

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,011 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)

I’m moving up in terms of downloads but my hope is that people are going directly to the book’s site on Amazon and not being discovered by parents or children going through “Children’s eBooks.”

I actually have several children’s stories I want to tell in the future and would like to be on good terms with potential readers of those stories.

Posted in Novels

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

