From Toy to Tool

I’ve had an iPad 2 for some time and hoped it would be a good writing tool.

It was fun to use but it didn’t have two programs that were essential to my writing (Scrivener and Final Draft).

So the device became an email checker, Facebook viewer, and an online cookbook for my wife and daughter.  It was excellent in all those jobs.  A bit pricey but nice.

Then things changed.

Yesterday I bought the FD Writer app from Final Draft which allows me to work on my scripts on the iPad, my laptop and my desktop.  The toy has become a tool.  It’s only been one day but I’m already using the iPad as a production writing device for my screenplays.  This is what I wanted when I purchased the iPad.

I know it’s still early (one day of use) so I’ll let you know how things work out as I become more familiar with this writing tool … if my wife and daughter let me reclaim the iPad.

Posted in Tools

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

